Ramblers Logo

Shropshire Ramblers

Horizon line
Future Walks

Sunday, 28th May 2017: Burwarton and ascent of Brown Clee

Tuesday, 30th May 2017: Marbury

Wednesday, 31st May 2017: The Wrekin Area

Thursday, 1st June 2017: Brown Moss

Saturday, 3rd June 2017: Walking the northern half of the Shropshire Way - Stage 10

Sunday, 4th June 2017: Hopesay Common and Wart Hill

Tuesday, 6th June 2017: Long Mynd

Wednesday, 7th June 2017: Grinshill

Sunday, 11th June 2017: Lyth Hill to Longden

Tuesday, 13th June 2017: Cheswardine

Wednesday, 14th June 2017: Batch Valley

Sunday, 18th June 2017: Roundton Hill

Book Cover

More Favourite Walks around Oswestry and the Borders

a book of walks published by the Oswestry Group of the Ramblers

This series of books was born out of an idea to record some of our members’ favourite walks in this outstanding walking country for posterity.

This second book follows the same format as the first and introduces 16 new walks. They are all less than 6 miles long and cover the length and breadth of the Oswestry border area.

The Walks in the Tanat Valley whilst relatively strenuous provide spectacular views of the Berwy Mountains, the Tanat Valley and the Shropshire Plain. The walks down in the south introduce the countryside around the confluence of the Rivers Severn and Vyrnwy. We have included four walks of different lengths and grades from Oswestry town centre to introduce the lovely countryside literally on the doorstep. In the north we have two walks in the spectacular but steep sided Ceiriog Valley and over to the east we introduce walkers to Overton and the river Dee.

We love to walk in this area of unspoilt country side, and are pleased to introduce it to you and believe that you will come to enjoy it as we do. Nothing pleases us more than to meet people on our walks enjoying this area we call our Oswestry Ramblers’ area for the first time. We hope the book is of interest to both residents and visitors.

The book is available at a price of £4.95 from local retail outlets, or can be obtained from Peter Carr, of the Oswestry Group of the Ramblers 01691 780722